FIRST IMPRESSIONS- NYX COSMETICS

Hi! So, I’m not quite sure why/how I’ve reached November 2016 and not tried any NYX make-up (I know, right?) especially since I’ve heard nothing but positive things about the ‘budget brand’. I think people are referring to it as this because some of the products are amazing dupes for the pricier Kylie range, especially the lip glosses, etc. However, I think I might finally be down with the kids now, as I purchased a few things from the Boots store in Eldon Square in Newcastle…

15027816_10209530095842351_400931305079974713_n
‘Matte but not Flat’ liquid foundation, ‘Sculpt and Highlight’ face duo visage (almond), ‘Cosmic Metals’ lip cream  (08 speed of light), ‘HD Studio Photogenic’ finishing powder.

Firstly, I opted for this foundation in particular as I have been using the Maybelline ‘FIT ME Matte + Poreless’, which is great for my skin that is generally quite oily (the joys), as it does what it says on the tin- mattifies and reduces the look of my pores and scarring. I was pleasantly surprised that the NYX foundation does much the same thing but I personally find that the same amount goes further on my face and is slightly more buildable- and all for a couple of pound extra at £10. I chose a light/medium cool tone as I have yellowy/olive undertone to my skin and I love how true the pigments are so I will be purchasing more shades in the future!

15037064_10209530054001305_5480982634413417861_n

The Highlight and Contour duo stick is very much like having two contrasting concealers-which is a positive as they are easy to apply for someone that is fairly new to the contouring game, plus there is a little example photo on the box which demonstrates where to use the different shades for the best result. I find that the darker shade is harder to blend as I’ve tried with both my fingers and a brush, however the highlighter is great for around the eye area and does seem to brighten it. For some reason it hasn’t shown up in photos too much which tells me that I’m probably not applying enough- note to future self!

The ‘HD’ finishing powder is very fine, pure white powder which claims that it does not affect the colour of your foundation, even if you have darker skin. However, I mentioned earlier that my skin and foundation is usually yellow toned, after applying this powder my skin definitely has a chalky/talc powder sort of look (maybe this is why my contouring doesn’t show up too well). This being said, it also does mattify and set your foundation and I will still be using this powder either just in the ‘highlight’ areas or for paler make-up looks!

15181490_10209553226820611_5342984809781092870_n.jpg

Last but not least, the ‘Cosmic Metals’ lip cream- I would firstly describe more as a gloss as it has that sticky feel and I find it slips out of place even with liner on. However, the pigment is amazing and this particular colour gives an orangey, reddish, bronzy effect, which is actually something that I would prefer on my eyes (I’m pretty sure people actually use this for a metallic eye)! Overall, great product for those who are more daring with their make-up, whereas I think I prefer/suit a more natural look so will stick to dabbing this onto my eyelids for a more subtle bronzed feel.

On an end note, I personally think that these products are a great buy for the price and quality and I literally cannot wait to get back to the Boots store in Newcastle and pick up some of the lip lingerie’s, eye shadows and more foundation! Thanks for reading-

Lauren x

FIRST IMPRESSIONS- NYX COSMETICS

Leave a Reply

